13 March 2009: The international teams in the 2009 Celtic 100k / Anglo Celtic Plate are outlined below.

The additional individual entrants include Margrethe Logavken, one of the world's top female 100k runners. Margrete, a Norwegian, holds a PB of 7:43:27. The rest of the race field comprises Andrew DuBois (Australia); Andrew Collier (England); Bob Boles, John Costigan, Anthony Lee, Tony Mangan, Chris O'Neill, John O'Regan, Andrew Reynolds and John Tierney (Ireland); Zbigniew Gawor (Poland); and Andrew Farquharson and Adrian Stott (Scotland).


12 March 2009: England has named a five-person men's team and three-person women's team for the race.

Included among the men is Dominic Croft, the reigning Anglo Celtic Plate champion; Jez Bragg, the 2007 winner who holds a PB of  7:03:12;  Allen Smalls, fifth place finisher in 2008; Marcus Scotney, winner of the 2009 Draycote Water 35; and Nathan Montague. The women's team is comprised of Heather Foundling-Hawker, a former European 50km Champion who holds a PB of 7:50:54; and Charlotte Finch and Angie Sadler who are both making their international debut at 100km. 


12 March 2009: Scotland is sending four-person men's and women's teams to the Celtic 100k / Anglo Celtic Plate competition.

On the men's team, Paul Hart, silver medallist at the 2008 Scottish 100k Championships, will be joined by Scottish 24-Hour Champion Steve Mason (148 miles+); Andy Rankin, a debutante in the Scottish vest; and Les Hill. The Scottish women's team comprises Sandra Bowers and Elaine Calder as well as first time representatives Isobel Knox and Gail Murdoch.


2 March 2009: A Welsh men's team has been entered into the Anglo Celtic Plate home countries international.

The national team from Wales includes Mark Baker, who made his international debut for Wales at the 2008 Anglo Celtic Plate; Jeremy Mower, making his fifth appearance for Wales in the Anglo Celtic Plate; Iain Ridgway, an experienced off-road ultra runner; John Pares, a two-time winner of the Tooting Bec 24-Hour race and Great Britain international at the 2007 World Championships; and Mark Shepherd, a 2008 Welsh ultramarathon champion.


26 February 2009: UltraRunning Ireland has named its men's and women's teams for the Anglo Celtic Plate. 

Ireland's men's team comprises Thomas Maguire, the national 100k record holder with a PB of 7:05:06; Marty Rea, a former national 100k champion with a PB of 7:21:42; and Eoin Keith, the national 24-hour record holder.  

The two-person Irish women's team includes Helena Crossan, the national record holder with a PB of 7:52:45. Helena has been ranked in the top 10 in the world for the past two years and holds a World Trail Championships silver medal. She will be joined by Aisling Coppinger, the 2008 European mountain running champion (W35), who is making her debut at the 100km distance.


20 February 2009: The German Ultramarathon Federation (DUV) is sending two men's teams and one women's team to the Celtic 100k.  

Among the men is Jens Lukas, the three-time Spartathlon winner and former European 24-hour Champion. Others include Stefan Hinze, the 2008 German trail champion and a 7:18 hrs 100k athlete; Mattias Dippacher, reigning 50km Schwaebisch Marathon and Nuremberg six-hour race champion; Sascha Velton, the 2006 and 2007 German trail champion; Florian Reus, two-time German 24-hour champion; Josef Willerich, fourth-place finisher in the 2005 European Cup of Ultramarathon Races; Michael Irrgang, 24-hour specialist and 2008 World Championship competitor; and Bertram Wagenblatt, the winner of the 2008 6 Hours DUV Cup. The three-person DUV German women's team includes Marika Heinlein, the reigning German 24-Hour Champion; Ulrike Steeger, former European team champion member; and Nicole Kresse, the 2007 German trail champion.