Results of Celtic 100k

A sunny and cool day greeted competitors at the Celtic 100k foot race, which took place in Galway, Ireland on 28 March. The 100km (62.1 miles) road race incorporated the 2009 Anglo Celtic Plate competition between the home nations of Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales. 


The Mayor of Galway, Councillor Padraig Conneely, was on hand to start the race at 08:00. The event was overseen by race director and organiser, Richard Donovan. 


In the men's competition, England's Jez Bragg ran a stellar race to take the individual title in a world class 6:58:00. The winning time, a PB for Bragg, meant he ran each mile at an average pace of under 6 minutes 44 seconds. He was followed by Germany's Stefan Hinze and England's Allen Smalls in second and third place, respectively. The Anglo Celtic Plate team competition was retained by England with Scotland second and Ireland third.


Helena Crossan brought great cheer to the home crowd when she overtook England's Heather Foundling-Hawker in the latter stages to take the female title. Crossan, the Irish 100km record holder with a PB of 7:52:45 settled for a time of 8:11:04 on this occasion. Angie Sadler of England finished in third position to ensure England retained the Anglo Celtic Plate team title for women ahead of Scotland and Ireland.


Strong teams were entered by the German Ultramarathon Federation in the open section of the race to make for an exciting competition. The flat 2km circuit by the seafront also contributed to numerous PBs being set in the event.


The Celtic 100k is Ireland's first world-ranking IAU-labelled ultramarathon and was made possible by the help of the Galway City Council, the Gardai and Irish Defence Forces. It is anticipated that Galway might become the setting for World 100km and 24-Hour Championships.


For more information and complete results of the Celtic 100k, see     


Excel File of Celtic 100k Individual Results (including 10km splits and DNF data).
Excel File of Celtic 100k Team Results (including Anglo Celtic Plate Competition).


Men's Individual Results


    Position  Name  Nationality  Time
     1  Jez Bragg  ENG  6:58:00
     2   Stefan Hinze  GER  7:14:14
     3  Allen Smalls  ENG  7:16:03
     4  Marcus Scotney  ENG  7:16:23
     5  Matthias Dippacher  GER  7:16:44
     6  Thomas Maguire  IRL  7:30:56
     7  Sascha Velten  GER  7:42:45
     8  Andy Rankin  SCO  7:43:04
     9  Eoin Keith  IRL  7:45:12
     10  Nathan Montague  ENG  7:46:46
     11  Iain Ridgway  WAL  7:49:30
     12  Stephen Mason  SCO  7:49:54
     13  Dominic Croft  ENG  8:00:26 
     14  Florian Reus  GER  8:02:58
     15  Les Hill  SCO  8:36:30
     16  John O'Regan  IRL  8:36:42 
     17  John Pares  WAL  8:40:28
     18  Josef Willerich  GER  8:45:15
     19  Bertram Wagenblatt  GER  8:51:29
     20  Michael Irrgang  GER  8:51:29
     21  Jeremy Mower  WAL  8:53:07
     22  Andrew Collier  ENG  9:17:39
     23  Jens Lucas  GER  9:20:57
     24  Tony Mangan  IRL  9:35:28
     25  Zbigniew Gawor  POL  10:04:42
     26  Mark Baker  WAL  10:38:38
     27  Bob Boles  IRL  10:46:12

    Women's Individual Results

      Position  Name  Nationality  Time
       1  Helena Crossan  IRL  8:11:04
       2   Heather Foundling-Hawker   ENG  8:20:09
       3  Angie Sadler  ENG  8:25:47
       4  Sandra Bowers  SCO  8:28:58
       5  Isobel Knox  SCO  8:43:14
       6  Ulrike Steeger  GER  8:52:26
       7  Gail Murdoch  SCO  9:02:03
       8  Marika Heinlein  GER  9:11:43
       9  Aisling Coppinger  IRL  9:31:20
       10  Elaine Calder  SCO  10:06:41